In 1995…

24 Feb
464324_219974571453032_1415934516_o

Flashbacks of my adolescence. *shudder*

Dig through your couch cushions, your purse, or the floor of your car and look at the year printed on the first coin you find. What were you doing that year? – via The Daily Prompt

I looked in my purse and I found a quarter. The year on it: 1995.

In 1995 I was in middle school in Miami. I was 12-years old that year. I was going to the seventh grade. I was in the midst of puberty and that awkwardness that I didn’t seem to outgrow until eighth grade.

I was into stickers. I was still watching Sesame Street and Barney (and guess what? I still do when the kids aren’t even around). I had my first french kiss. I was a cheerleader (briefly) and I made a few friends. I was still new to Miami, even after two years, and the new school made my life seem somewhat tolerable…

It wasn’t a bad year. There was some really good music, too! I can always look back and listen to the music from that year and smile. Such great songs then…

But honestly, I wasn’t doing much then. I was still only twelve. Playing man hunt and swimming and jumping in pools during rainstorms. Nothing really special. That was when life was still somewhat easy…

And apparently, according my to my yearbook, I was in love with some guy named James. Eeew.

2 Responses to “In 1995…”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Nickel Short of a Dollar | Stuphblog - February 27, 2013

    [...] In 1995… | The Silver Lining of the Optimistic Pessimist [...]

  2. Daily Prompt – Buffalo Nickel – Poem / Poetry / Song – “Adios to Painful Mementos” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish) - March 7, 2013

    [...] Music in Me–and Oh, How it Moves Me! – Part 3. | Our Heritage: 12th Century & Beyond 48. In 1995… | The Silver Lining of the Optimistic Pessimist 49. Daily Prompt: Buffalo Nickel | baka’s blog 50. Daily Prompt: 1980 Memories | Writing [...]

What do you think?

Daily Discernment

Recovering From Church Corruption

Kreative Kymona

HAVING FUN WITH PAPER, INK, TOOLS, AND ANYTHING CRAFTY!

God... In The Beginning

Reflections Of God's Greatness

12 the hard way

ruminations on the twelve steps.

The Paris Review Blog

Written Word Inspired by The Paris Review and The Paris Review Daily

Janet Carr @

This Bug's Life

Living with ADHD

How else could I live?

Glenn Rosado

Author site

Stumbling Onward

My journey beyond infidelity.

Roadkill Goldfish

Common sense and controversies with a sense of humor and a moral compass

Sips of Jen and Tonic

Writing that's straight up with a twist

Organic Melinda

healthy living with a Latin twist

Gabriel Lucatero Official Website

Stories of a hard-working waiter

The Odd One Out

Inside a brain of a not-so-typical teenage girl...

Game4Learning

Fun Learning Resouces for Kids

The Adventures of Fanny P.

...because life is just one big adventure...

WritingOutLoud

Hypothetical 1st Thoughts: by Kyle Bedard

Fathers' Rights Blog

by Jeffery M. Leving

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

The Silver Lining of the Optimistic Pessimist

The basis of optimism is sheer terror. Pessimist: One who, when he has the choice of two evils, chooses both. - Oscar Wilde

allmostrelevant

getting your mind off of getting your mind off of things

Follow Me Films

A Place for Projects that Inspire

All the things I Don't Wish

I'm the one, that's not anymore

MOMoir of the Pinak

Pregnancy journey of a Japapina.

Rein Rant N' Rave

It's Like Getting a Holiday Letter All Year Long

New York Knicks Memes

A Knicks Comedy Page & Blog for Knicks Fans

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Perfect Black

There's a war being fought who's side are you on?

HarsH ReaLiTy

My goal with this blog is to offend everyone in the world at least once with my words… so no one has a reason to have a heightened sense of themselves. We are all ignorant, we are all found wanting, we are all bad people sometimes.

The Better Man Project

A man in progress. One day at a time.

PLUR News

Music, Reviews & Interviews

Off Duty Mom

Thoughts from an exhausted mom who is NEVER really "off duty"

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

About The Children, LLC's Blog

"We're About The Children, it's about time." (800) 787-4981

Cambria's Corner

Some people use crayons, others numbers, but I prefer words.

datbookreviews

Helping New Authors Get The Publicity They Deserve

Wiley's Wisdom

Joy: From the Ground Up

Is this gentleman bothering you?

[writing] between friends

a california girl in kansas. a kansas girl in california.

Afterburn

Just another WordPress.com site

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 969 other followers

