Two Birds, One Stone

25 Feb

Hey, wrong cliché. Sometimes we don’t realize what we have right in front of us until it’s gone.

I look at people with all this money they just have to throw around and do amazing things like vacations and buy 3 new cars and I sometimes wish I had all that. Or some girl has married into money and she is with some really hot guy who inherited so much money…

Then there are the people who have gotten engaged and married and all that good stuff… and I sit and think, “Man, what I wouldn’t give to have a perfect life with a man and a shit ton of money and a big wedding…”

Then I look at my life. I look at the lives of those around me. I see their unhappiness. Well, for some people. I see how they go on vacation after vacation, looking glamorous, but they’re alone. They try so hard to smile, and feign this “Single life is awesome” but I know well they want someone to share it with.

That girl who married into money? He beats her. Treats her like a trophy and throws money at her, but the material possessions do not bring her joy.

I will take what I have over that any day. I am content with a simple life. I know how to make meals from pretty much anything… I would know how to survive without electricity (even if I don’t want to) and I have an idea of what it is like to struggle.

I would take my having a boyfriend who earns decent money and treats me with respect and is honest over some rich dude with a superiority complex.

What I have, my bird in the hand is worth more than two in the bush because I’ve learned to appreciate what I have. Not everything that glitters is gold. The grass isn’t always greener on the other side… Ya know, that whole shtick. The Devil you know is better than the Devil you don’t know. And I may not have a Devil in my life, but I’m happy with what I have, struggles, accomplishments, whatever.

I can let go of what I have currently in hopes to find something better, but why? I’m perfectly content with where I am in my life. Things may not be where I expected them to be, but it’s better than going for something else and it amounting to a dead end.

I’m not saying we should settle, but if what we have now is working and we are content, then there is probably no reason to let that go for a possibility that might or might not work out.

5 Responses to “Two Birds, One Stone”

  1. honeydidyouseethat? February 25, 2013 at 8:59 PM #

    I think the grass is not always greener. :) I agree. Someone will always be richer, smarter…. something more than you are. Whatever! :)

    • Theena Theen February 26, 2013 at 2:20 PM #

      That’s my point. No matter what people should be happy with what they have because if you keep wanting what someone else has you never see what is good in your own life.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. If A Woman Don’t Find You Handsome They Should At Least Find You Handy | The Jittery Goat - February 25, 2013

    [...] Two Birds, One Stone | The Silver Lining of the Optimistic Pessimist [...]

  2. Daily Prompt: Cliché | Enchanted Seashells…Confessions of a Tugboat Captain's Wife - February 25, 2013

    [...] Two Birds, One Stone | The Silver Lining of the Optimistic Pessimist [...]

  3. Daily Prompt – Cliché – If You Can’t Beat Them, Mock The Everloving Sh*t Out of Them! | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish) - March 21, 2013

    [...] 28. A bird in the who? What?! | Getting away 29. Touche’ Cliche’ | theloneshewolf 30. Two Birds, One Stone | The Silver Lining of the Optimistic Pessimist 31. Since I totally messed up my last cliche post | Getting away 32. Just sayings | Spunky Wayfarer [...]

What do you think?

12 the hard way

daily ruminations on the twelve steps.

The Paris Review Blog

Written Word Inspired by The Paris Review and The Paris Review Daily

Janet Carr @

This Bug's Life

Living with ADHD

How else could I live?

Glenn Rosado

Author site

Stumbling Onward

My journey beyond infidelity.

Roadkill Goldfish

Common sense and controversies with a sense of humor and a moral compass

Sips of Jen and Tonic

Writing that's straight up with a twist

Organic Melinda

healthy living with a Latin twist

Gabriel Lucatero Official Website

My Books. My Articles. My Life

The Odd One Out

Inside a brain of a not-so-typical teenage girl...

Game4Learning

Fun Learning Resouces for Kids

The Adventures of Fanny P.

...because life is just one big adventure...

WritingOutLoud

Hypothetical 1st Thoughts: by Kyle Bedard

Fathers' Rights Blog

by Jeffery M. Leving

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

The Silver Lining of the Optimistic Pessimist

The basis of optimism is sheer terror. Pessimist: One who, when he has the choice of two evils, chooses both. - Oscar Wilde

allmostrelevant

getting your mind off of getting your mind off of things

Follow Me Films

A Place for Projects that Inspire

All the things I Don't Wish

I'm the one, that's not anymore

MOMoir of the Pinak

Pregnancy journey of a Japapina.

Rein Rant N' Rave

It's Like Getting a Holiday Letter All Year Long

New York Knicks Memes

A Knicks Comedy Page & Blog for Knicks Fans

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Perfect Black

There's a war being fought who's side are you on?

The Better Man Project

A man in progress. One day at a time.

PLUR News

Music, Reviews & Interviews

Off Duty Mom

Thoughts from an exhausted mom who is NEVER really "off duty"

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

About The Children, LLC's Blog

"We're About The Children, it's about time." (800) 787-4981

Cambria's Corner

Some people use crayons, others numbers, but I prefer words.

datbookreviews

Helping New Authors Get The Publicity They Deserve

Wiley's Wisdom

Joy: From the Ground Up

Is this gentleman bothering you?

[writing] between friends

a california girl in kansas. a kansas girl in california.

Afterburn

Just another WordPress.com site

achievinghappinessdotnet

Just another WordPress.com site

Four Deer Oak

Bits and Pieces from my little space on this planet

Fairytale Fallacies

Irony revealed in Haiku rhymes

Dressed To Quill

⊰ Market Fresh Content ⊱

monkeyrooster

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

WakeUpTired

Brain vomit.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 926 other followers

